Woodruff Logo

Woodruff Prize

This video was produced by Second Story Productions to illuminate the Woodruff Foundation's history and interests, and to honor the 2008 Woodruff Prize award winner, EDEN, Inc.

2012 Judges:
Goldie Alvis
Cleveland State University School of Social Work
William Denihan
Alcohol & Drug Addiction & Mental Health Services
Board of Cuyahoga County
Joan England
Mental Health Advocacy Coalition
Frank Fecser, Ph.D.*
Positive Education Program
Valerie Hicks*
Specialized Alternatives for Families and Youth
Richard Paulson*
Ann Reichsman M.D.*
Neighborhood Family Practice
Robert J. Ronis, M.D., M.P.H.*
University Hospitals/Case Western Reserve Univ.
J.B. Silvers Ph.D.
Weatherhead School of Management,
Case Western Reserve University
* Denotes Woodruff Foundation Trustee



2012 Woodruff Incentive Award Winner

The Woodruff Foundation announces the winner of the 2012 Woodruff Incentive Award.  The winner is MetroHealth Foundation, in partnership with the Cuyahoga County Correctional Center, Murtis Taylor Human Services System, and Recovery Resources, for a project that will provide both physical and behavioral health care for people with severe mental illness and chronic health conditions who have been recently released from jail.

The award was presented at the Woodruff Forum at the City Club of Cleveland on February 24, 2012. The Forum also featured a keynote address by Thomas R. Insel, MD, Director of the National Institute of Mental Health, on Neuroscience: The Next Frontier. Dr. Insel is a member of the Institute of Medicine, a fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology and the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award from the U.S. Public Health Service.

The Woodruff Incentive Award was established in 2012 to help spur innovation in behavioral health care during this time of increased political uncertainty and decreased public funding. The Foundation sought to support an effort that would create change by integrating behavioral and physical health care, facilitate collaboration among behavioral health agencies and across systems, strengthen the behavioral health workforce, and develop new revenue sources.

The winning collaborative project was one of seven concepts proposed by partnerships involving 27 different nonprofit agencies in Cuyahoga County. A competitive process resulted in the selection of the wining project, which will receive a $10,000 grant for planning in 2012 and then be eligible to receive up to $200,000 in 2013 and 2014 for implementation. 






2009PLAN of Northeast Ohio, Inc.
2008Emerald Development and Economic Network, Inc.
2007The Children's Program at The Gathering Place
2006Community Assessment and Treatment Services
2005Magnolia Clubhouse, Inc.
2004Stella Maris
2003Positive Education Program
2002The Free Clinic of Greater Cleveland
2001Merrick House
2000Women's Re-Entry Resource Network
1999Project Safe, Cleveland Treatment Center
1998Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless
1997Project ACT, Cleveland Public Schools
1996East Cleveland Straight Talk
1995Alliance for the Mentally Ill-Metro Cleveland
1994Hill House
1993The Center for Prevention of Domestic Violence
1992Cleveland Rape Crisis Center
1991The Covenant Adolescent Chemical Dependency Treatment Center
1990West Side Community Mental Health Center
1989Mobile Crisis Team of the Child Guidance Center
2010Vady Vega, CPST Worker and HIV Educator, Recovery Resources
2009Ruth A. Addison, President and CEO, Murtis Taylor Human Services System
2008Robert Weiss, M.D., Director, Psychiatry Consultation Service, MetroHealth Medical Center, MetroHealth Medical Center
2007Frank A. Fecser, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Positive Education Program
2006Robert Ronis, M.D., MPH, Chairman, Department of Psychiatry at University Hospitals of Cleveland and Case Medical School
2005Helen (Kelly) Dylag, Executive Director, Far West Center
2004Helen K. Jones, President, Recovery Resources
2003William A. Wortzman, Board Member of Hopewell, Bellefaire Jewish Children's Bureau, Jewish Family Services Association and Psychobiology Clinic
2002Miriam S. Plax, Executive Director, NAMI-Metro Cleveland
2001Mario Tonti, Executive Director, Beech Brook
2000L. Douglas Lenkoski, M.D., Professor Emeritus
1999Judith Z. Peters, Executive Director, Hill House
1998Mark Warren, M.D., Medical Director, Laurelwood Hospital and Counseling Center
1997Judy Fant, Director of Foster Care Program, Bellefaire Jewish Children's Bureau
1996Joyce DeCluette, Director, AIRS Program, Recovery Resources
1995Ralph Fee, Director, West Side Community Mental Health Center
1994Walter P. Knake, Jr., Ph.D., Free Clinic Volunteer
1993Jim Stutz, Free Clinic Volunteer
1992Eugene R. Brudno, Mental Health Volunteer
1991Maureen Dee, Program Director, Catholic Counseling Center
1990Richard I. Pountney, Executive Director, Stella Maris